County Website

Accessibility: Section 508

Section 508 requires electronic and information technology of Federal agencies to be accessible to people with disabilities. To be compliant with Section 508, electronic content must conform to WCAG 2.0 Level A and AA.  While Rowan County is local, not federal, we still strive to achieve compliance to ensure access to all of our citizens.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) were developed to make content accessible to people with disabilities and users in general. WCAG accounts for accessibility on various devices and considers many different disabilities. Three levels of conformance are used in WCAG:

  • A: Ensures users can access web content
  • AA: Ensures users can easily access web content
  • AAA: Ensures easy access to web content for specific users (not applicable to all content)

WCAG is based on four principles of web accessibility: accessible content must be perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust.


Best Practice Tips

The CivicPlus Content Best Practices Guide (PDF) is a checklist for implementing accessibility principles and includes sections that cover:

  • Compliance: ADA, Section 508, Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
  • Compliance: Images & Text
  • In-House Formatting Consistency: Images, Pages, Text
  • In-House Formatting Navigation: Bucket Pages, Navigation, Site Maps
  • In-House Formatting Module & Widget Consistency: Titles, Modules, Widgets
  • Editing: Capitalization, Punctuation, Spacing

Content Editing Modules

Top modules to create content on our website include: